Red Wings  "Rookie of the Year" Award

2016-17 Recipient - Anthony Mantha

1973-74 – Bill Hogaboam

1972-73 – Henry Boucha

1971-72 – Marcel Dionne

1970-71 – Tom Webster

1969-70 – Al Karlander

1968-69 – Paul Popiel

1967-68 – Gary Jarrett/Roy Edwards

1966-67 – not awarded

1965-66 – Bert Marshall

1964-65 – Roger Crozier

1963-64 – Pit Martin

1962-63 – Doug Barkley

1961-62 – Bruce MacGregor

1960-61 – Hank Bassen

1959-60 – Murray Oliver

1958-59 – Len Lunde

1957-58 – Don Poile

1956-57 – Billy Dea

1955-56 – Glenn Hall

1954-55 – not awarded

1953-54 – Bill Dineen

1952-53 – Marcel Bonin

1951-52 – Glen Skov

1950-51 – Terry Sawchuk

1949-50 – Steve Black

1948-49 – Max McNab

Previous Rookie of the Year Award Winners

2015-16 – Dylan Larkin

2014-15 – Petr Mrazek

2013-14 – Danny DeKeyser

2012-13 – Gustav Nyquist

2011-12 – Cory Emmerton

2010-11 – Jakub Kindl

2009-10 – Jimmy Howard

2008-09 – Jonathan Ericsson

2007-08 – Derek Meech

2006-07 – Jiri Hudler

2005-06 – Johann Franzen

2004-05 – None Awarded

2003-04 – Niklas Kronwall

2002-03 – Henrik Zetterburg

2001-02 – Pavel Datsyuk

2000-01 – None Awarded

1999-00 – Jiri Fischer

1982-98 – None Awarded

1980-81 – John Barrett

1979-80 – Mike Foligno

1978-79 – Wilhelm Huber

1977-78 – Dale McCourt

1976-77 – Jim Nahrgang

1975-76 – Michel Bergeron

1974-75 – Bill Lochead

Detroit Red Wings forward Anthony Mantha has been named the 2016-17 Red Wings Rookie of the Year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association.


Mantha began the 2016-17 campaign with the American Hockey League’s Grand Rapids Griffins, racking up eight goals among his 10 points (8-2-10) in 10 games before he was recalled to the Red Wings for the remainder of the season. The 22-year-old skated in 60 games for Detroit, notching 36 points (17-19-36) and 53 penalty minutes. Mantha ranked among Red Wings leaders with 17 goals (T3rd), 19 assists (7th), 36 points (7th), a plus-10 rating (2nd) and three game-winning goals (2nd). His most productive stretch of the season involved a six-game point streak from Dec. 17-Jan. 1, totaling nine points (5-4-9) over that span, which was capped off by his first two-goal and three-point game during the NHL’s Centennial Classic between the Red Wings and Toronto Maple Leafs at BMO Field in Toronto on Jan. 1. Including his 10-game stint with Detroit late in the 2015-16 season, Mantha has totaled 39 points (19-20-39) and 55 penalty minutes in 70 NHL games.

“It means a lot to me to receive this award, and I’d like to thank the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association for the recognition,” said Mantha. “Playing in the NHL is a dream come true, and it was a thrill to play in the final season at Joe Louis Arena. I learned a lot this season, and I’m looking forward to getting started again and building off this season in 2017-18.”

The Red Wings’ first-round pick (20th overall) in the 2013 NHL Entry Draft finished 12th in NHL rookie scoring overall, and his team-leading two overtime goals placed first among league rookies. Between the date of his season debut (Nov. 12) and his season-ending injury (March 30), Mantha’s 17 goals trailed only four NHL rookies: two of the NHL’s three Calder Trophy nominees as rookie of the year in Toronto’s Auston Matthews and Winnipeg’s Patrik Laine, as well as Carolina’s Sebastian Aho and Toronto’s Connor Brown.


A 6-foot-5, 221-pound forward hailing from Longueuil, Quebec, Mantha registered 88 points (44-44-88), a plus-20 rating and 102 penalty minutes in 132 AHL games with the Griffins from 2014-17, prior to graduating to the NHL full-time. Mantha was a decorated scorer for the Val d’Or Foreurs in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League between 2010-14 before joining the Griffins. He totaled 260 points (129-131-260), a plus-42 rating and 185 penalty minutes in 189 games with the club, capped off with a 120-point season (57-63-120) in just 57 games for the Foreurs in 2013-14 which led to Canadian Hockey Player of the Year honors. Mantha also added 38 points (24-14-38) in 24 postseason games to lead the team to a QMJHL championship. Internationally, Mantha represented his country at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship and led the team with 11 points (5-6-11) in seven games.


Mantha will be honored by the DSBA prior to a Red Wings home game during the 2017-18 season. The DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award dates back to the 1948-49 NHL season. Previous recipients of the award include current Red Wings Danny DeKeyser, Jonathan Ericsson, Johan Franzen, Jimmy Howard, Niklas Kronwall, Dylan Larkin, Petr Mrazek, Gustav Nyquist and Henrik Zetterberg.

P.O. Box 1222, Warren, MI 48090



Grant Fund