Ty Tyson Award

The DSMA Needs Your Support With Your Donation!

We are a network of sports media professionals in Metro Detroit geared toward community outreach and mentoring support. As a 501(c)(3) our primary mission is raise funds to grant scholarships to students both entering and enrolled in college.

Your donation is GREATLY appreciated.

Click here to donate.

Open Panel

title sponsor

Search our Site

The Detroit Sports Media Association is proud to present annually the prestigious Ty Tyson “Excellence in Sports Broadcasting Award” to one Active Member of our organization for outstanding achievement in sports coverage. Our 2020 Ty Tyson Excellence in Sports Broadcasting Award will be presented at our 34th Annual DSMA Charity Golf  Scramble and Scholarship event Monday, July 13th at at Cherry Creek Golf Club in Shelby Township.

ty tysonWinners are selected by the DSMA Board of Directors from a list of potential candidates provided by member nominations. These nominees include but are not limited to a member of the Metro Detroit media who exemplifies excellence in sports reporting and coverage as demonstrated by Ty Tyson, the founder and the first president of the DSMA whose name the honor bares. Think about those Active members who in their broadcast work in the past year were exemplary. This includes work as sports anchors, update reporters, play-by-play, game analysts, game reporters, sports talk show hosts, and sports special program hosts. The DSM also considers those sports broadcasters who performed these skills well over a period of time. Your nominee should be among those Active Members who fulfill those criteria. Previous winners of the award are eligible.

Ty Tyson Excellence in Sports Broadcasting DSMA Award winners includes Michigan Sports Hall of Famers Ty Tyson, Ernie Harwell, Paul Carey, Frank Beckmann, George Blaha, Budd Lynch, and Jim Brandstatter.

Michigan sports broadcasters who earned Ty Tyson Awards include Jim Brandstatter, George Blaha, Matt Shepard, Dan Dickerson, Dan Miller, Mark Champion, Trevor Thompson, Terry Foster, Ken Kal, Ken Daniels, Jennifer Hammond, Josh Lewin, Will Tieman, Mario Impemba, Bernie Smilovitz and Jamie Samuelsen. 

Share DSMA With Your Friends