"Best of the Best" Award

The DSMA Needs Your Support With Your Donation!

We are a network of sports media professionals in Metro Detroit geared toward community outreach and mentoring support. As a 501(c)(3) our primary mission is raise funds to grant scholarships to students both entering and enrolled in college.

Your donation is GREATLY appreciated.

Click here to donate.

Open Panel

title sponsor

Search our Site

kathybestDSMA Kathy Best “Best of the Best Award” 
The Detroit Sports Media Association proudly presents its annual “Best of the Best" Award for excellence in sports media/public relations.  The award is named after long time Red Wings Public Relations member Kathy Best who won the inaugural award in 1995. Since then, the distinction has been bestowed upon more than two dozen PR and Media Relations professionals who go "Above and Beyond" the call of duty and exemplify excellence in their field. Both members and non-members of the DSMA can receive this award. Previous winners of the award are eligible.
2020-21 - Eamonn Reynolds - Detroit Lions
2019 - Pete Krupsky - U.S. National under 17 & USA Arena
2018 - Scott MacDonald, United Shore Baseball League
2017 - Merrill Cain, Detroit Grand Prix
2016 - Ron Colangelo, Tigers
2015 - Jeff Weiss, WSU Athletics
2014 - Bill Harrington, Genesus Marketing
2013 - John Hahn, Red Wings & Illitch Holdings
2012 – Kevin Grigg, Pistons
2011 – Tim Pendell, Lions
2010 – John Johnson, MHSAA
2009 – Will Tieman, Spartan Sports Network
2008 – George Eichorn, DSBA
2007 – Jim Streeter, EMU Eagles
2006 – Mark Engel, UDM Titans
2005 – Dennis Davidson, Boxing
2004 – John Lewandowski, MSU Spartans
2003 – Risa Balayem, Ford Field/Lions
2002 – Bill Keenist, Lions
2001 – Matt Dobek, Pistons
2000 – Tyler Barnes, Tigers
1999 – Tommy Cameron, MIS Speedway
1998 – Mike Murray, Lions
1997 – Bruce Madej, U-M Wolverines
1996 – Kathy Best, Red Wings

Share DSMA With Your Friends